Approximately three tours per day
Dating back to 1348, this historic site was originally a burial site during the Black Death, before becoming an almshouse in 1611. Previously hidden in plain sight by a high border wall, the handsome Charterhouse has only been open to the public since 2017. There's a museum about its past, while visitors can also attend evening services in its tiny, curious chapel.
Tours must be booked to visit the rest of the site, as it is still home for a small community of retired residents, the Brothers.
Tue-Sun 11am-5pm; approximately three tours per day. Museum and chapel admission free; standard tour £10; Brothers' tour £15.
- Chancery Lane
- St. Paul's