Out & About: Admiralty House
Yellow brick was used to build the four-storey Admiralty House. Opened in 1788, it was designed by Samuel Pepys Cockerell at the request of the First Lord of the Admiralty, Viscount Howe. It was the official residence of First Lords of the Admiralty until 1964 and has also been home to several British Prime Ministers, including Winston Churchill while serving as First Lord of the Admiralty, 1911–15 and 1939–40. It now contains government function rooms and three ministerial flats. With stunning views, the rear façade facing the Horse Guards Parade and the front facing Whitehall, it truly is a building to admire.